8 Comments
Feb 1, 2021Liked by Winnie Kong

I have heard about Fred Korematsu, but was never formally taught about him and his legacy in school. Korematsu and many other AAPI activists should be included in the US education system!

Expand full comment
author

Yes, I agree, Chris! I had the same experience. The US education system is too Eurocentric...

Expand full comment
Feb 1, 2021Liked by Winnie Kong

Very thankful for AAPI activists like Fred Korematsu!

Expand full comment
author

Paving the way for us!

Expand full comment
Jan 31, 2021Liked by Winnie Kong

Happy Fred Korematsu Day! There is a PBS film about Fred Korematsu, Of Civil Wrongs And Rights.

Expand full comment
author

Thank you for the rec!

Expand full comment
Jan 30, 2021Liked by Winnie Kong

I first learned about Korematsu’s life and legacy when I read Farewell to Manzanar, a true story of Jeanne Wakatsuki’s life growing up with her family in the internment camps. It’s a very honest account, and devastating to read, but it’s such a valuable resource to start with to learn about the atrocities the U.S. committed against Japanese-Americans. Fred Korematsu was one of the first people who resisted internment, and worked fiercely to protect the civil liberties of all. Happy Fred Korematsu Day!

Expand full comment
author

I really appreciate your insight, Eleni! Thank you for sharing that novel with me, I'll be adding it to my to-read list.

Expand full comment